IMCS/European News/2014/

Republic of Moldova is now associated to Horizon 2020

On July 1, 2014 the Republic of Moldova signed the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation Horizon 2020 (H2020) Association Agreement alongside five Western Balkan countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia.

European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science Máire Geoghegan-Quinn said: "The agreements signed today are good for these countries and good for the European Union. Increased cooperation in research and innovation will create new opportunities for growth, competitiveness and jobs in all our economies. Association to H2020 will facilitate the mobility of excellent scientists, strengthen national research systems, and help the countries integrate into the European Research Area".

The association agreement will apply retroactively as from 1 January 2014.

Details on: